Over 72 percent voter turnout in Rajasthan and 67 percent in Telangana: EC

New Delhi:

Over 72 percent voters in Rajasthan and 67 percent voters of in Telangana turned to cast their votes today till 5 p.m. according to figures released by the Election Commission of India.

In Rajasthan the tentative figure is 72.62 percent and since polling is still going on, it’s likely to go further up. In the 2013 elections, it was 75.23%, said the election Commission.

In Telangana 67% voter turnout was recorded till 5 P.m. According to Election Commission the final figures are yet to come in hence the number is likely to increase as the polling parties are yet to return.


In Rajasthan 4.74 crore people were registered to vote for the 199 of the 200 assembly seats. The election in Ramgarh of Alwar district was postponed following the death of Bahujan Samaj Party candidate Laxman Singh.

Although the polling was schedule to end at 5 p.m. those already in the queue at the booths were allowed to vote.


Hence the voting percentage which was 72.62 percent till 5 p.m. is likely to increase.
Polling at 51,687 booths across Rajasthan started at 8 a.m. The police was by and large peaceful with few clashes among voters reported in some areas.
Chief Minister Vasundhara Raje, Chief minister Ashok Gehlot, State Congress chief Sachin Pilot and other leaders were among those who casted their votes today.


Over 2.80 crore voters were registered to cast their ballots in Telangana for 119 assembly seats. The polling was largely peaceful barring few small incidents of clashes and EVM malfunctioning.

Alike Rajasthan the Election Commission here also allowed voters, who were standing in queue outside the booth, to cast their votes. Hence the voting percentage here is also expected to go up a little.


Chief Minister K Chandrashekar Rao, Governor ESL Narasimhan, BJP’s Telangana president K Laxman, state Congress chief Uttam Kumar Reddy and AIMIM chief Asaduddin Owaisi were among the leaders who casted their votes.
The results will be declared on 11 December.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *